Vlog Entry 5: Stampin’ Up Haul, Makeup Discussion, and how I do it all…

This is going to be a long description because it includes a recipe, so be sure to click to see the whole thing. ^_^

In this video, I show off my Stampin’ Up haul (Sale-a-bration!) and talk a little about my makeup. I’ve had people say I should do makeup tutorials, I discuss why I probably won’t and the ONE tutorial I might actually do. For awesome makeup tutorials, check out my gorgeous friend, Sam, as she shows off her fabulousness and teaches you how to show off your fabulousness over at her channel:

http://www.youtube.com/user/Kermitvon…

And, the ultimate question… how do I do it all? I’ll share a few of my tips and hints. Nothing earth-shattering, just some of the things that have helped me out. I share my favorite brown rice recipe in the video, but I’ll also share it here. This is one of those recipes that helps me “do it all”. So easy, so quick, and so good!

Kathy’s Oven Brown Rice (adapted from some more complicated recipe that I don’t remember anymore…)

Single batch:
1 1/2 cups brown rice
3 cups liquid (water or broth… use chicken broth for a ready-from-the-oven side dish)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray an 8×8 square baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Get a piece of foil ready that will fit over the top of your pan.

Boil the liquid on the stove. While waiting for your liquid to boil, you may or may not rinse your rice (as desired). Spread the rice in the bottom of the baking dish. Once liquid is boiling, pour it over the rice in the pan. Cover quickly with foil and put into the oven, being very careful not to tilt the pan as the foil is not water-tight and you don’t want to burn yourself!

Bake for an hour. Pull out of the oven. I like to let it sit for 5-10 minutes in the pan, covered. The wait time is the magical trick that re-moistens the edges of the rice in the dish. (Sometimes they can be crunchy.) If you don’t have time, just serve from the middle of the dish.

Double Batch:
3 cups brown rice
5 3/4 cups liquid (I don’t know why, but doing six cups makes it all icky and mushy, so when you double the recipe, you need to use less than double the amount of water.)

Follow all of the directions above, but use a 9×13 pan instead of an 8×8 pan.

There you have it! I hope you enjoy my longest video yet. ^_~

About Kathy Canuel

I'm a happy artist loving on my husband and boys, making things (everything in every way!), and doing my best to live life to the fullest every day. Love, art, life.

Leave a Reply

