Life in the Day

Life proceeds at its happy and hectic pace.  A day isn’t complete without something cheerful going on and that’s a good thing to be able to say.

The kids did great in their first day of school.  They seem to like their teachers a lot and we’re getting started in on the homework.  Thad is learning who knows what in his amazing gifted school.  Elliott learned yesterday what an eyelid is, and today during homework time I got to teach him how to put words in ABC order.

He’s doing great, but I’ve been noticing some extra sniffles and coughs over the last couple of days, so this morning, I gave him a quick oil treatment.

Image

The recommended DoTERRA allergy remedy is a combination of these three powerful essential oils. It really works wonders!

I rubbed lemon, lavender, and peppermint on the bottoms of his feet, and I actually just got finished doing it for him before bed.  I also slathered Breathe all over his chest.  It really helps him get through the night with minimal coughing and issues.

Image

Work in progress with Lion Brand Alpine Wool in Olive.

My pretty crochet thing is proceeding apace… I suppose I can go ahead and say what it is now.  It’s going to be a rug to place in front of my sink.  I get tired of standing there when I do the hand wash dishes and not having anything nice and squishy for my feet.  My husband said, “You mean like shoes?”  LoL… I said, “No.  I’m barefoot and not pregnant in the kitchen.”

Image

I can’t get over this opal color. This is the last bead I had in my collection like it.

I got to a point in this thing I’m making up where I needed some stitch markers.  Suddenly the thought of using the plastic ones I already own felt unbearable.  I prayed about it and suddenly this idea for a new crochet stitch marker dropped into my head.  I used them all last night and all day today and I can tell you that there is nothing wrong with them.  They’re perfect.

Image

Removable markers like these will be added to my Etsy shop very soon.

I searched Etsy and couldn’t find a single set of stitch markers that looked this nice.  I don’t want to sound like a snob in saying that.  I don’t feel like I should have to say that I pray about something in creativity or business all secretively.  I’m not preaching.  It’s part of my creative process, and I give all of the credit for any good that anyone sees in my work to God.  Any of the bad you see?  That was all me.  I have no problem taking credit for that.  Sometimes I get in the way of His genius.

Image

It seems like it should be glowing more. Or maybe the door should open and there should be singing while sparkles fall from the heavens.

The pantry is FINALLY finished.  It feels too anticlimactic.  I mean, no fireworks started going off.  I didn’t get a call from the President congratulating my enormous effort.  Nothing amazing happened except that I got to see it today when I opened the door.  I mean, it’s nice, but I think I’m still too close to the work to feel like this is enough of a payoff.  I don’t know if that makes sense, but sometimes I feel like that about my knitting or crochet projects.  I can’t truly love them until some time has passed since their completion.  One of these days, I’ll open this door and I’ll squeal so everyone can hear me.  I’ll remember to not do it until everyone is up.

Image

To blanket or not to blanket? That is the question. Gorgeous, soft, smooshy Lion Brand Heartland in (clockwise from top) Acadia, Glacier Bay, Sequoia, Joshua Tree, Grand Canyon, and Great Smoky Mountains.

Lastly, I bought two more colors for the blanket project that might no longer be a blanket.  I mean, these colors are gorgeous.  They have such depth.  I was so good, intending the yarn to go to other people via a finished project, but Elliott looked at me tonight with big eyes and said he’d like for me to make him a “yarn kitty” and I might have to put some of this yarn to a different use.  It could be for his birthday.

Big eyes from either one of my kids or my husband usually mean that the yarn stays here.  Some people might just be getting a gift card for Christmas.  These guys SO love every single thing I make (they even fight over it) that they always end up taking priority.  Even if I didn’t love them as much as I do, with the way they act over the knitted and crocheted stuff, they’d always be the top of the list.

Full, happy, hectic day.  Life is good.

About Kathy Canuel

I'm a happy artist loving on my husband and boys, making things (everything in every way!), and doing my best to live life to the fullest every day. Love, art, life.

Leave a Reply

